Announcing the Opening Central Texas for Business Task Force

Posted on 04/23/2020 by Austin Chamber of Commerce

Travis County Judge Sarah Eckhardt and Austin Mayor Steve Adler have asked the Chamber to convene a task force to provide a knowledgeable perspective on when and how businesses might be able to adapt and function in a COVID-19 world.

This task force is structured to represent a diverse set of stakeholders: small and large businesses, multiple industry sectors, business membership organizations, and community groups that support the needs of business such as transportation, public health, and safety.

The work of this task force is to honor public health priorities and focus on how to thoughtfully and safely reopen our regional economy. Key activities for the task force will include:

  • Evaluating and accounting for specific needs by industry sector
  • Evaluating the preparedness level of businesses to safeguard public health
  • Educating the business community on public health requirements and best practices
  • Monitoring public health outcomes to determine whether adjustments are needed
  • Providing feedback to policymakers

Through the Chamber’s leadership, we will be trusted advisors to our elected and public health officials so our member businesses can get back to work stronger and safer than ever.

Task Force Members

Our task force is comprised of more than 100 community and business leaders. This is not a comprehensive list and will continue to be updated throughout the coming days.



Neeraj Aggarwal

Michael & Susan Dell Foundation

Joan Altobelli

Austin YMCA

Tamara Atkinson

Workforce Solutions Capital Area

Mason Ayer

Kerbey Lane Cafe/United Way Board Chair

Josh Baer

Capital Factory

Ed Bailey

Austin City Limits Live & 3Ten

Cheyenne Baker

Freeman Co.

Jason Ball

Round Rock Chamber of Commerce

Dianne Bangle

Real Estate Council of Austin

Marina Bhargava

Greater Austin Asian Chamber of Commerce

A.J. Bingham

The Bingham Group, LLC (Representing the Greater Austin Restaurant Association)

Scott Blalock

JW Marriott Austin

Joe Bolash

Austin Hotel & Lodging Association Chair

Bill Brice

Downtown Austin Alliance

Veronica Briseño

City of Austin

Charles Brotherton

Travis County

Joseph Cajas, III

The Cajas Digital Agency/Greater Austin Hispanic Chamber Board Chair

Tina Cannon

Austin LGBT Chamber

Gus Cardenas

Austin Healthcare Council

Sue Carpenter

United Way for Greater Austin

David Case

Schertz Bank & Trust

Allison Castle

Castle Communications

Chris Cervini

Austin Community College District

Peter Cesaro

GDHM/Real Estate Council of Austin Board Chair

Elisbeth Challener

ZACH Theater

Emily Chenevert

Austin Board of Realtors

Derrick Chubbs

Capital Area Food Bank

Carrie Ciliberto

Home Builders Association of Greater Austin

Randy Clarke

Capital Metro

Krystle Cline

VORTEX Repertory Company

Beth Corbett

Central Texas Food Bank

Spencer Cronk

City of Austin

Dr. Paul Cruz

Austin ISD

Scott Davidson

Code 4 Event Management/Emergency Services

Andy Davis

Ascension Seton

Cara DiMattina Ryan

Workforce Solutions Rural Capital Area

Emily Dreyer

Dell Technologies

Denise Eisman

Austin Hotel & Lodging Association

Craig Enoch

Enoch Kever/Austin Chamber of Commerce Board Chair

Christine D. Escobar

Univision Communications Inc.

Dr. Mark Escott

Interim Health Authority

David Evans

Integral Care

Gary Farmer

Heritage Title Company/Opportunity Austin Board Chair

Tamara Fields


Joe Fowler

Home Builders Association of Greater Austin

Jay Fox

Baylor Scott & White

Frank Fuentes

U.S. Hispanic Contractors Association

Ryan Garrett

Stubb’s Austin

Kate Garza

Ascension Seton

Mike Geeslin

Central Health

Jason Giulietti

Greater San Marcos Partnership

Michele Glaze

Samsung Austin Semiconductor

David Glenn

Home Builders Association of Greater Austin

J.J. Gottsch

Ryan Sanders Sports & Entertainment

Larry Graham

Texas Gas Service

Nikki Graham

Bank of America

Amber Gunst

Austin Technology Council

Sandy Hentges Guzman

Austin Area Research Organization

Kareem Hajjar

Hajjar/Peters LLP

Debbie Halpert


Tam Hawkins

Greater Austin Black Chamber of Commerce

Patricia V. Hayes

PVH Consulting Group/Greater Austin Black Chamber Board

Jeremy B. Hendricks

Southwest Laborers District Council/Laborers' International Union of North America

Kenny Hill

Goodwill Industries of Central Texas

Cathy Hoover

Westlake Chamber of Commerce

The Honorable Donna Howard

Texas House of Representatives

John Howard

Dell Technologies

Laura Huffman

Austin Chamber of Commerce

David Huffstutler

St. David's HealthCare

Brett A. Hurt, a Certified B Corporation

David Jabour

Twin Liquors

Charlie Jones

Four Leaf Productions

Michelle Jones

Freeman Co.

Josh Jones-Dilworth

Jones-Dilworth, Inc.

Scott Joslove

Texas Hotel & Lodging Association

Maninder Kahlon

University of Texas at Austin, Dell Medical School

Jason Kelley


Natalie Kennedy

Kennedy Creative Events

Juliana Kerker

St. David’s HealthCare

Kyle Kerrigan

Upbring Innovation Labs/Austin Young Chamber Board Chair

Chase Kincannon

Austin LGBT Chamber

Ed Latson

Austin Regional Manufacturers Association

Rick Levy


Glen Lietzke

Austin Junior Volleyball

Cindy Y. Lo

Red Velvet Events, Inc.

Andy Loughnane

Austin FC

Amy Madison

Pflugerville Community Development Corporation

Dr. Molly Beth Malcolm

Austin Community College District

Oksana Malysheva

Sputnik ATX

Chief Brian Manley

Austin Police Department

Mark McClain

SailPoint/Austin Technology Council Board Chair

Tracye McDaniel

TIP Strategies/Past Chair, International Economic Development Council

Laura Mitchell

Lake Travis Chamber of Commerce

Jason Mock

San Marcos Chamber of Commerce

Chas Moore

Austin Justice Coalition

Nick Moulinet

DPR Construction

Jack Murray

Austin Marathon & High Five Events

Tom Noonan

Visit Austin

Juan M. Ortiz

City of Austin

Eli Pablon


Alyssia Palacios-Woods

Austin Young Chamber

Carmen Palo

HID Global

Anna Panossian

Circuit of The Americas

Dixie Patrick

Austin Independent Business Alliance

Abby Payne


De Peart

Downtown Austin Alliance

Wes Peoples

Wes Peoples Homes, LLC

Dr. Colette Pierce Burnette

Huston Tillotson University

Ann-Marie Price

Baylor Scott & White

Diana Ramirez

Travis County

Rebecca Reynolds

Music Venues Alliance-Austin

Dr. Richard Rhodes

Austin Community College District

John Riedie

Austin Creative Alliance

Rosa Rios Valdez

BCL of Texas

Nelia Robbi

McGinnis Lochridge/SAFE Alliance Board Chair

Geronimo Rodriguez

Austin ISD Board President

Luis Rodriguez

Greater Austin Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Jose Roig

City of Austin

Nathan Ryan

Blue Sky Partners

Jackie Sargent

Austin Energy

Samantha Schoen

HID Global

Amos Schwartzfarb

Techstars Austin

Elliott Smith

Kitchen Sync Strategies

David C. Smith

United Way for Greater Austin

Jennifer Stevens


David Stewart

HID Global

Kelsey Streufert

Texas Restaurant Association

Simone Talma Flowers

Interfaith Action of Central Texas

Trisha Tatro

Austin Convention Center Department

Kathy Terry

P Terry’s/inLieu

Scott Turner

Riverside Homes

Michele Van Hyfte

Downtown Austin Alliance

David Waddell

Texas Restaurant Association

Jason Winborn


Ellen Wood

vcfo, Inc.

John Woodley

Advocates for Disability Access

Jacqueline Yaft

Austin-Bergstrom International Airport

Yuen Yung

Casoro Group