A Tradition of Recognizing Leadership and Service

Posted on 12/12/2016 by Austin Chamber of Commerce

The Austin Chamber carries a long and proud history of recognizing contributions of difference makers who shape the Austin region. "Austinite of Year" is the highest honor awarded by the Chamber. Dating back to 1984, recipients have included an outstanding list of leaders who have been instrumental in making Austin an even-better place to live, work and do business.

Year Honoree(s)
2017 Bobby Jenkins
2016 Drs. Ken Shine and Clay Johnston
2015 Alan Graham
2014 Mayor Lee Leffingwell
2013 Clarke Heidrick
2012 Lynn & Tom Meredith
2011 South by Southwest Leaders Louis Black, Roland Swenson, Nick Barbaro and Hugh Forrest
2010 Lance Armstrong
2009 Charles Barnett
2008 Dr. Pat Forgione
2007 Mayor Will Wynn
2006 Gary Farmer
2005 Pike Powers
2004 Pete Winstead
2003 F. Gary Valdez
2002 Lowell Lebermann
2001 Bobby R. Inman
2000 Kirk Watson
1999 Angela & Mort Topfer
1998 Lee Walker
1997 Susan & Michael Dell
1996 Max Sherman
1995 Darrell Royal
1994 Ann Richards
1993 Walt & Elspeth Rostow
1992 George & Ronya Kozmetsky
1991 Jerry Carlson
1990 Dr. Patricia Hayes
1989 Willie & Neal Kocurek
1988 Wilhelmina Delco
1987 Jake Pickle
1986 Frank McBee
1985 Dick Rathgeber
1984 Dr. Peter Flawn

Related Categories: Chamber, Membership